The 2016 William Thomas Booth Memorial
Travel Award Recipients

Stephanie Perez, Ph.D. Elizabeth Fucich

Congratulations to Postdoctoral Fellow Stephanie Perez, Ph.D.(L) and Neuroscience graduate student Elizabeth Fucich(R) for being selected to receive the William Thomas Booth Memorial Travel Awards!

William Thomas Booth, a native Texan and west Texas rancher, passed in August of 2012. His family began a memorial fund that year, in his name, at the University of Texas Health Science Center in San Antonio. The purpose of the fund is to support the research travel of Pharmacology Postdoctoral Fellows and graduate students, so they can present their research data at the largest neuroscience meeting of the year...the Society for Neuroscience (SfN) Annual Meeting. This year, the meeting will be held in San Diego, CA., where attendance is expected to exceed 30,000 world-wide participants, from over 80 countries.

The selection committee included Pharmacology Associate Professor Lance McMahon, Ph.D., Assistant Professor Gek-Ming Sia, Ph.D., Assistant Professor/Research Lisa Gerak, Ph.D. and Assistant Professor/Research April Risinger, Ph.D., who reviewed several abstract submissions before selecting Dr. Perez's and Elizabeth's from the finalists. Stephanie and Elizabeth will each receive a travel stipend in the amount of $500 to aid with travel expenses to the SfN Annual Meeting.

Dr. Perez's abstract is titled : 'Hippocampal and thalamic regulation of VTA dopamine neurons occurs via convergent inputs to the nucleus accumbens' Stephanie conducts her research in the lab of Pharmacology Associate Professor Daniel Lodge, Ph.D.. Elizabeth's abstract is titled: 'Modeling exposure therapy in rats: fear extinction-induced infralimbic protein synthesis underlies reversal of chronic stress-induced cognitive inflexibility'. She conducts her research in the lab of Pharmacology Professor and Center for Biomedical Neuroscience (CBN) Director, David Morilak, Ph.D..

Congratulations Dr. Perez and Elizabeth!!!