21st Annual Arthur H. Briggs Lectureship
Thursday, October 30, 2014 @ 4:00PM
Medical Bldg - Lecture Hall Room 309L


Dr. Arthur BriggsDr. Arthur H. Briggs (pictured left) served as Chair of the Department of Pharmacology at UTHSCSA from 1968 - 1993, during which time he studied the actions of drugs on the cardiovascular system, hypertension, and drugs of abuse. His laboratory published the first papers on the central role of calcium in vascular smooth muscle contraction and the interrelationships between sodium and potassium ions and drugs. These studies led to important advances in the understanding of calcium in smooth muscle function. Since his retirement in 1993, Dr. Briggs has remained Professor Emeritus within the Department and an annual lectureship has been held in his honor.

This year's guest lecturer, Husseini K. Manji, M.D., F.R.C.P.C., is the Global Therapeutic Area Head for Neuroscience at Janssen Research & Development, LLC, a division of Johnson & Johnson (pictured below). Dr. Manji will be presenting his lecture titled, 'Devastating Brain Disorders must be tackled through an innovative, accelerated, collaborative effort'. Previously, he was Chief, Laboratory of Molecular Pathophysiology & Experimental Therapeutics, NIH, and Director of the NIH Mood and Anxiety Disorders Program. Dr. Manji received his B.S. and M.D. from the University of British Columbia. He completed fellowship training at the NIMH and completed additional training in cellular and molecular biology. His research has focused on investigation of disease-and treatment-induced changes in gene and protein networks that regulate synaptic and neural plasticity. His work has led to investigation of novel therapeutics for patients with refractory neuropsychiatric illnesses. Dr. Manji has also been involved in medical and postgraduate neuroscience education and has published extensively on the molecular and cellular neurobiology of neuropsychiatric disorders and the development of novel therapeutics. Dr. Manji has received numerous distinguished scientific and academic awards, including the NIMH Director’s Career Award for Significant Scientific Achievement, and was inducted in to the U.S. Institute of Medicine of the National Academies in 2008.

He holds voluntary leadership positions in many organizations devoted to advancement of neuroscience and advocacy for people with neuropsychiatric illnesses. He has been a member of the Howard Hughes Medical Institute and NIH Research Scholars Program Advisory Committee.

The major focus of Dr. Manji's ongoing research is the investigation of disease- and treatment-induced changes in gene and protein expression profiles that regulate neuroplasticity and cellular resilience in mood disorders. In broad terms, his laboratories' scientific goals are to capitalize upon recent insights into our understanding of the signaling pathways mediating the effects of mood stabilizers in order to understand the pathophysiology of severe mood disorders and to develop improved therapeutics.


A wine and cheese reception follows the lecture in the Holly Auditorium Foyer.


Dr. Husseini K. Manji
21st Annual Arthur H. Briggs Guest Lecturer Husseini K. Manji, M.D., F.R.C.P.C.


Dr. P. Jeffrey Conn, 2013
Dr. Michel Bouvier, 2012
Dr. James H. Woods, 2011
Dr. Floyd E. Bloom, 2010
Dr. Mark Von Zastrow, 2009
Dr. Tomas Hökfelt, 2008
Dr. Marc Caron, 2007
Dr. Terry Kenakin, 2006
Dr. G. Stanley McKnight, 2005
Dr. Brian Kobilka, 2004
Dr. David J. Triggle, 2003
Professor James Black, 2002
Dr. Raymond J. Dingledine, 2001
Dr. William A. Catterall, 2000
Dr. Henry Bourne, 1999
Dr. Ira Black, 1998
Dr. Lee E. Limbird, 1997
Dr. Ian Creese, 1996
Dr. Michael Moskowitz, 1995
Dr. Perry Molinoff, 1994