23rd Annual Graduate Student Symposium
Friday October 28th, 2016
La Quinta Inn & Suites Medical Center, San Antonio,TX

Each fall, the graduate students in the Department of Pharmacology organize a symposium, which includes two poster sessions, several slide presentations, lunch, and a keynote address. This year's Symposium is being held at the La Quinta Inn & Suites Medical Center, 4431 Horizon Hill Blvd (off I-10E Frontage Rd., between Medical Dr. and Callaghan Dr.). The event is being organized by Pharmacology graduate students Elizabeth Fucich, Corena Shaffer and Christopher Tschumi.


During the two poster sessions, the research of dozens of students, postdocs, and faculty is highlighted. This year's speakers for the Student Presentations are Alumnus Elaine Por, Ph.D., Research Biochemist at the Ocular Trauma division at the United States Army Institute of Surgical Research (JBSA-Ft. Sam Houston), whose presentation is titled: 'To Be Determined' and Graduate Student Fernando Moura, who's presentation is titled: 'To Be Determined'. The Graduate Student Symposium is traditionally brought to a close by the Arthur Briggs Lecturer, who this year is Bruce Littlefield, Ph.D., who serves as Distinguished Scientist and Head of Translational Medicine in the Global Oncology Medical Affairs division of Eisai, a global pharmaceutical company headquartered in Tokyo. His Graduate Student Symposium address is titled 'My Accidental Career: Natural Products, Microtubules, Cancer Drug Discovery and Other Cool Stuff That Was Never Part of My Plan'.






Last Year's Guest Speaker - Dr. Peter Senter

Last Year's Poster Winners (L-R Roma Kaul, Juli Bai, Ph.D. and Allison Doyle)