Congratulations Pharmacology Neuroscience
Student of the Year for 2012, Elaine Por!


ElainePor Congratulations Elaine Por!!!

Elaine Por (pictured, on the left, receiving her certificate from the Pharmacology Chairman, Alan Frazer, Ph.D.) won the Pharmacology Student of the Year Award for 2012. She currently holds a Bachelor's degree in Biology and Chemistry from Texas State University and a Masters degree in Biology from Kangwon National University. Elaine is a fifth year Pharmacology Neuroscience student who is working in Nathan Jeske's, Ph.D. lab, where she is doing research on the scaffolding capabilities of b-arrestin in reference to TRP channels that transduce painful stimuli. She is extremely active in the science community, presenting papers at numerous local, state, and national meetings over the past several years, including: the Center for Biomedical Neuroscience Annual Retreats, the Pharmacology Graduate Student Symposiums and the Society for Neuroscience Annual Meetings.

Elaine just received a 1st Place Poster Award at the 2012 10th Annual Center for Biomedical Neurosciences Retreat for her poster titled: 'Phosphorylation regulates TRPV1 association with β-arrestin-2'. In September of 2011, she also received the Ruth L. Kirschstein National Research Service Award Individual Fellowship and in August of 2010, she received the Craniofacial Oral-Biology Student Training in Academic Research fellowship.

Ms. Por was admitted to the Pharmacology candidacy in May of 2010 and she hopes to complete her doctorate in the next couple months. Pictured below is Elaine with her certificate.